Skip to product information
1 of 6

Teal Butterfly Press

When Wren Came Out

When Wren Came Out

Regular price $4.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
CHOOSE ONE:

INTERNATIONAL READERS ORDER HERE 

How do you accept your child's authentic identity when it goes against everything you’ve always believed in?

Traditional Army wife, Theresa Churchill, spent years shuffling her family from post to post. She was relieved when her husband retired and they finally put down roots in a picket-fence and apple pie Minnesota town. 

Theresa is thrilled to see her daughter, Wren, settling in and making friends, but, gradually, she begins to worry that Wren’s feelings for her classmate go beyond friendship. An undeniable transformation is taking place that Theresa cannot ignore, forcing her to grapple with her own convictions and demanding that she navigate the widening divide between her conservative husband and queer child, threatening to tear her family apart piece by piece.

Theresa must embark on a journey from fear and confusion to unconditional love acceptance, to find the courage she needs to give her child the freedom to love everyone needs and deserves. 

Genre: Women's Contemporary Fiction and LGBTQ+ Fiction

For fans of Emily Giffin, Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Barbara O'Neal. 

View full details

Customer Reviews

Based on 8 reviews
100%
(8)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
S
Sandy Robinson
A must read!!

This book is not only well written, it is thought provoking and educational. It is a story of love, heartbreak, introspect and renewal. As a parent and grandparent, it opened my eyes even further to what an ally really is, the role we play in supporting those we love in their journey through life. As a human being, it portrays the tragedies that being true to oneself can bring about, and how every single one of us can open our eyes to change within ourselves with a goal of loving one another and accepting differences as learning experiences. I highly recommend this book...I couldn't put it down amidst tears, laughter, sorrow and joy, as the characters came to life.

R
Regan Wolbers
Love is love! Spread some! This book is doing just that and it is making a difference!

It is a beautiful book! Blair Bryan’s voice is authentic, raw, vulnerable, accessible, honest, and just full of big fat gorgeous love. I know this book is doing good. Thank you, Blair Bryan, for putting yourself and your talents out there in this world that needs you!!!!!!!

N
Nerd Club
Modern parenting at its best!

This is the book that every parent should read, if they have an LGBTQ kid or not. This is a heartwarming story of acceptance, understanding, and forgiveness. When my youngest came out as gay, and later as non-binary, I needed this book. Sadly, not many books like this exist. I've been that stand-in mom for kids who needed support. You don't get any guarantees when you become a parent. Unconditional love isn't always easy, but the rewards are incredible. You just need to be willing to grow together.

K
Kristie Clark
One of a kind book

I started reading this and could not put it down. It takes you on a journey of anger, love, acceptance, and self awareness. We all have something to learn from each other. Great read

K
Kasondra giardina
Value Added to growth

This story captured the extremes of acceptance, resistance, challenge, and denial of a spectrum of parent types living through change and fear. It also covered the journey of both of Wren's parents, and of some of the other characters, well enough to leave you with a sense of hope, and reality, while seeing the damage that can be done. It fully conveyed the fear that comes along with being forced to deal with things in life, that frankly, shouldn't be a thing at all. This is a story of redemption, but not the storybook type. It's a more real version of what it takes, sometimes, for people to come to the table and be open to hearing things they previously simply didn't WANT to hear. It is a story of confusion, acceptance, hate, love, pain, happiness, and growth. It's quite a journey, and one worth taking to explore this topic in a safe way. Exploring this in make believe, that is so unfortunately accurate, will hopefully help someone to make less mistakes or at least move along a bit more openly in real life.

If you are a parent in need of some perspective, or if you just want to learn more about the struggles some people might go through surrounding this subject, this book will provide you with the hope, understanding, and also fear you need to better understand.